Self Assessment Tool

Compose your own Professional Profile, find  the best matching ICT Profiles and choose the certificates that could help you to meet your aspirations.

Start your self-assessment by clicking the button.

Start self-assessment tool

The European e-Competence Framework



The e-Competence Framework, is a tool to describe the skills of professionals in ICT-related roles.The e-CF is a reference for job and role descriptions, skill development, training and education.The framework has been developed by a large number of European ICT and  HR experts in the context of the CEN Workshop on ICT Skills.The European e-Competence Framework is structured from four dimensions. These dimensions reflect different levels of business and human resource planning requirements in addition to job/ work proficiency guidelines.


The four dimensions of the e-CF are specified as follows:

The 40 e-competencies of the e-CF

Click on the competency code in the list for the full description.

Dimension 1
e-competence area
Dimension 2
e-Competence: Title + generic description
B.1 Application Development
Interprets the application design to develop a suitable application in accordance with customer needs. Adapts existing solutions by e.g. porting an application to another operating system. Codes, debugs, tests and documents and communicates product development stages. Selects appropriate technical options for development such as reusing, improving or reconfiguration of existing components. Optimises efficiency, cost and quality. Validates results with user representatives, integrates and commissions the overall solution.
Dimension 3
e-Competence proficiency levels (on e-CF levels e-1 to e-5, related to EQF levels 3 to 8
Level 1
Acts under guidance to develop, test and document applications.

Level 2
Systematically develops and validates applications.

Level 3
Acts creatively to develop applications and to select appropriate technical options. Accounts for others development activities.

Dimension 4
Knowledge examples Knows/ Aware of/ Familiar with:
- K1 appropriate software programs/ modules,
- K2 hardware components, tools and hardware architectures
- K3 functional & technical designing
- K4 state of the art technologies
- K5 programming languages
- K6 power consumption models of software and/ or hardware
- K8 operating systems and software platforms
- K9 Integrated development environment (IDE)
- K10 rapid application development (RAD)
- K11 IPR issues
- K12 modeling technology and languages
- K13 interface definition languages (IDL)
- K14 security
Skills examples Able to:
- S1 explain and communicate the design/ development to the customer
- S2 perform and evaluate test results against product specifications
- S3 apply appropriate software and/ or hardware architectures
- S4 develop user interfaces, business software components and embedded software components
- S5 manage and guarantee high levels of cohesion and quality in complex software developments
- S6 use data models
- S7 perform and evaluate test in the customer or target environment
- S8 cooperate with development team and with application designers

Back to list