Self Assessment Tool

Compose your own Professional Profile, find  the best matching ICT Profiles and choose the certificates that could help you to meet your aspirations.

Start your self-assessment by clicking the button.

Start self-assessment tool

The European e-Competence Framework



The e-Competence Framework, is a tool to describe the skills of professionals in ICT-related roles.The e-CF is a reference for job and role descriptions, skill development, training and education.The framework has been developed by a large number of European ICT and  HR experts in the context of the CEN Workshop on ICT Skills.The European e-Competence Framework is structured from four dimensions. These dimensions reflect different levels of business and human resource planning requirements in addition to job/ work proficiency guidelines.


The four dimensions of the e-CF are specified as follows:

The 40 e-competencies of the e-CF

Click on the competency code in the list for the full description.

Dimension 1
e-competence area
Dimension 2
e-Competence: Title + generic description
A.5 Architecture Design
Specifies, refines, updates and makes available a formal approach to implement solutions, necessary to develop and operate the IS architecture. Identifies change requirements and the components involved: hardware, software, applications, processes, information and technology platform. Takes into account interoperability, scalability, usability and security. Maintains alignment between business evolution and technology developments.
Dimension 3
e-Competence proficiency levels (on e-CF levels e-1 to e-5, related to EQF levels 3 to 8
Level 3
Exploits specialist knowledge to define relevant ICT technology and specifications to be deployed in the construction of multiple ICT projects, applications or infrastructure improvements.

Level 4
Acts with wide ranging accountability to define the strategy to implement ICT technology compliant with business need. Takes account of the current technology platform, obsolescent equipment and latest technological innovations.

Level 5
Provides ICT strategic leadership for implementing the enterprise strategy. Applies strategic thinking to discover and recognize new patterns in vast datasets and new ICT systems, to achieve business savings.

Dimension 4
Knowledge examples Knows/ Aware of/ Familiar with:
- K1 architecture frameworks and systems design tools
- K2 systems architecture requirements: performance, maintainability, extendibility, scalability, availability, security and accessibility
- K3 costs, benefits and risks of a system architecture
- K4 the company’s enterprise architecture and internal standards
- K5 new emerging technologies (e.g., distributed systems, virtualisation models, datasets, mobile systems)
Skills examples Able to:
- S1 provide expertise to help solve complex technical problems and ensure best architecture solutions are implemented
- S2 use knowledge in various technology areas to build and deliver the enterprise architecture
- S3 understand the business objectives/ drivers that impact the architecture component (data, application, security, development etc.)
- S4 assist in communication of the enterprise architecture and standards, principles and objectives to the application teams
- S5 develop design patterns and models to assist system analysts in designing consistent applications

Back to list