Self Assessment Tool

Compose your own Professional Profile, find  the best matching ICT Profiles and choose the certificates that could help you to meet your aspirations.

Start your self-assessment by clicking the button.

Start self-assessment tool

The European e-Competence Framework



The e-Competence Framework, is a tool to describe the skills of professionals in ICT-related roles.The e-CF is a reference for job and role descriptions, skill development, training and education.The framework has been developed by a large number of European ICT and  HR experts in the context of the CEN Workshop on ICT Skills.The European e-Competence Framework is structured from four dimensions. These dimensions reflect different levels of business and human resource planning requirements in addition to job/ work proficiency guidelines.


The four dimensions of the e-CF are specified as follows:

The 40 e-competencies of the e-CF

Click on the competency code in the list for the full description.

Dimension 1
e-competence area
Dimension 2
e-Competence: Title + generic description
B.6 Systems Engineering
Engineers software and/ or hardware components to meet solution requirements such as specifications, costs, quality, time, energy efficiency, information security and data protection. Follows a systematic methodology to analyse and build the required components and interfaces. Builds system structure models and conducts system behavior simulation. Performs unit and system tests to ensure requirements are met.
Dimension 3
e-Competence proficiency levels (on e-CF levels e-1 to e-5, related to EQF levels 3 to 8
Level 3
Ensures interoperability of the system components. Exploits wide ranging specialist knowledge to create a complete system that will satisfy the system constraints and meet the customer’s expectations.

Level 4
Handles complexity by developing standard procedures and architectures in support of cohesive product development. Establishes a set of system requirements that will guide the design of the system. Identifies which system requirements should be allocated to which elements of the system.

Dimension 4
Knowledge examples Knows/ Aware of/ Familiar with:
- K1 appropriate software programs/ modules, DBMS and programming languages
- K2 hardware components, tools and hardware architectures
- K3 functional & technical designing
- K4 state of the art technologies
- K5 programming languages
- K6 power consumption models of software and/or hardware
- K7 information Security Basics
- K8 prototyping
Skills examples Able to:
- S1 explain and communicate the design/development to the customer
- S2 perform and evaluate test results against product specifications
- S3 apply appropriate software and/or hardware architectures
- S4 design and develop hardware architecture, user interfaces, business software components and embedded software components
- S5 manage and guarantee high levels of cohesion and quality in complex software developments
- S6 use data models
- S7 apply appropriate development and/or process models, to develop effectively and efficiently

Back to list