Self Assessment Tool

Compose your own Professional Profile, find  the best matching ICT Profiles and choose the certificates that could help you to meet your aspirations.

Start your self-assessment by clicking the button.

Start self-assessment tool

The European e-Competence Framework



The e-Competence Framework, is a tool to describe the skills of professionals in ICT-related roles.The e-CF is a reference for job and role descriptions, skill development, training and education.The framework has been developed by a large number of European ICT and  HR experts in the context of the CEN Workshop on ICT Skills.The European e-Competence Framework is structured from four dimensions. These dimensions reflect different levels of business and human resource planning requirements in addition to job/ work proficiency guidelines.


The four dimensions of the e-CF are specified as follows:

The 40 e-competencies of the e-CF

Click on the competency code in the list for the full description.

Dimension 1
e-competence area
Dimension 2
e-Competence: Title + generic description
E.8 Information Security Management
Implements information security policy. Monitors and takes action against intrusion, fraud and security breaches or leaks. Ensures that security risks are analysed and managed with respect to enterprise data and information. Reviews security incidents and makes recommendations for continuous security enhancement.
Dimension 3
e-Competence proficiency levels (on e-CF levels e-1 to e-5, related to EQF levels 3 to 8
Level 2
Systematically scans the environment to identify and define vulnerabilities and threats. Records and escalates non-compliance.

Level 3
Evaluates security management measures and indicators and decides if compliant to information security policy. Investigates and instigates remedial measures to address any security breaches.

Level 4
Provides leadership for the integrity, confidentiality and availability of data stored on information systems and complies with all legal requirements.

Dimension 4
Knowledge examples Knows/ Aware of/ Familiar with:
- K1 the organisations security management policy and its implications for engagement with customers, suppliers and subcontractors
- K2 the best practices and standards in information security management
- K3 the critical risks for information security management
- K4 the IS internal audit approach
Skills examples Able to:
- S1 document the information security management policy, linking it to business strategy
- S2 analyse the company critical assets and identify weaknesses and vulnerability to intrusion or attack
- S3 establish a risk management plan to feed and produce preventative action plans
- S4 perform security audits

Back to list