Self Assessment Tool

Compose your own Professional Profile, find  the best matching ICT Profiles and choose the certificates that could help you to meet your aspirations.

Start your self-assessment by clicking the button.

Start self-assessment tool

The European e-Competence Framework



The e-Competence Framework, is a tool to describe the skills of professionals in ICT-related roles.The e-CF is a reference for job and role descriptions, skill development, training and education.The framework has been developed by a large number of European ICT and  HR experts in the context of the CEN Workshop on ICT Skills.The European e-Competence Framework is structured from four dimensions. These dimensions reflect different levels of business and human resource planning requirements in addition to job/ work proficiency guidelines.


The four dimensions of the e-CF are specified as follows:

The 40 e-competencies of the e-CF

Click on the competency code in the list for the full description.

Dimension 1
e-competence area
Dimension 2
e-Competence: Title + generic description
D.2 ICT Quality Strategy Development
Defines, improves and refines a formal strategy to satisfy customer expectations and improve business performance (balance between cost and risks). Identifies critical processes influencing service delivery and product performance for definition in the ICT quality management system (ref D.4). Uses defined standards to formulate objectives for service management, product and process quality. Identifies ICT quality management accountability.
Dimension 3
e-Competence proficiency levels (on e-CF levels e-1 to e-5, related to EQF levels 3 to 8
Level 4
Exploits wide ranging specialist knowledge to leverage and authorise the application of external standards and best practices.

Level 5
Provides strategic leadership to embed ICT quality (i.e. metrics and continuous improvement) into the culture of the organisation.

Dimension 4
Knowledge examples Knows/ Aware of/ Familiar with:
- K1 the major information technology industry frameworks - COBIT, ITIL, CMMI, ISO - and their implications for corporate ICT governance
- K2 the information strategy of the organisation
Skills examples Able to:
- S1 define an ICT quality policy to meet the organisations standards of performance and customer satisfaction objectives
- S2 identify quality metrics to be used
- S3 apply relevant standards and best practices to maintain information quality

Back to list