Self Assessment Tool

Compose your own Professional Profile, find  the best matching ICT Profiles and choose the certificates that could help you to meet your aspirations.

Start your self-assessment by clicking the button.

Start self-assessment tool

The European e-Competence Framework



The e-Competence Framework, is a tool to describe the skills of professionals in ICT-related roles.The e-CF is a reference for job and role descriptions, skill development, training and education.The framework has been developed by a large number of European ICT and  HR experts in the context of the CEN Workshop on ICT Skills.The European e-Competence Framework is structured from four dimensions. These dimensions reflect different levels of business and human resource planning requirements in addition to job/ work proficiency guidelines.


The four dimensions of the e-CF are specified as follows:

The 40 e-competencies of the e-CF

Click on the competency code in the list for the full description.

Dimension 1
e-competence area
Dimension 2
e-Competence: Title + generic description
C.4 Problem Management
identifies and resolves the root cause of incidents. Takes a proactive approach to the root cause of ICT problems. Deploys a knowledge system based on recurrence of common errors.
Dimension 3
e-Competence proficiency levels (on e-CF levels e-1 to e-5, related to EQF levels 3 to 8
Level 2
Identifies and classifies incident types and service interruptions. Records incidents cataloguing them by symptom and resolution.

Level 3
Exploits specialist knowledge and in-depth understanding of the ICT infrastructure and problem management process to identify failures and resolve with minimum outage. Makes sound decisions in emotionally charged environments on appropriate action required to minimise business impact. Rapidly identifies failing component, selects alternatives such as repair, replace or reconfigure.

Level 4
Provides leadership and is accountable for the entire problem management process. Schedules and ensures well trained human resources, tools, and diagnostic equipment are available to meet emergency incidents. Has depth of expertise to anticipate critical component failure and make provision for recovery with minimum downtime. Constructs escalation processes to ensure that appropriate resources can be applied to each incident.

Dimension 4
Knowledge examples Knows/ Aware of/ Familiar with:
- K1 the organisations overall ICT infrastructure and key components
- K2 the organisations reporting procedures
- K3 the organisations critical situation escalation procedures
- K4 the application and availability of diagnostic tools
- K5 the link between system infrastructure elements and impact of failure on related business processes
Skills examples Able to:
- S1 monitor progress of issues throughout lifecycle and communicate effectively
- S2 identify potential critical component failures and take action to mitigate effects of failure
- S3 conduct risk management audits and act to minimise exposures
- S4 allocate appropriate resources to maintenance activities, balancing cost and risk
- S5 communicate at all levels to ensure appropriate resources are deployed internally or externally to minimise outages

Back to list