Self Assessment Tool

Compose your own Professional Profile, find  the best matching ICT Profiles and choose the certificates that could help you to meet your aspirations.

Start your self-assessment by clicking the button.

Start self-assessment tool

The European e-Competence Framework



The e-Competence Framework, is a tool to describe the skills of professionals in ICT-related roles.The e-CF is a reference for job and role descriptions, skill development, training and education.The framework has been developed by a large number of European ICT and  HR experts in the context of the CEN Workshop on ICT Skills.The European e-Competence Framework is structured from four dimensions. These dimensions reflect different levels of business and human resource planning requirements in addition to job/ work proficiency guidelines.


The four dimensions of the e-CF are specified as follows:

The 40 e-competencies of the e-CF

Click on the competency code in the list for the full description.

Dimension 1
e-competence area
Dimension 2
e-Competence: Title + generic description
C.2 Change Support
Implements and provides guidance for the evolution of an IT solution. Efficiently controls and schedules software or hardware modifications to prevent multiple upgrades creating unpredictable outcomes. Minimises service disruption as a consequence of changes and adheres to defined service level agreement (SLA).
Dimension 3
e-Competence proficiency levels (on e-CF levels e-1 to e-5, related to EQF levels 3 to 8
Level 2
During change, acts systematically to respond to day by day operational needs and react to them, avoiding service disruptions and maintaining coherence to service level agreement (SLA).

Level 3
Ensures the integrity of the system by controlling the application of functional updates, software or hardware additions and maintenance activities. Complies with budget requirements.

Dimension 4
Knowledge examples Knows/ Aware of/ Familiar with:
- K1 functional specifications of the information system
- K2 the existing ICT application technical architecture
- K3 how business processes are integrated and their dependency upon ICT applications
- K4 change management tools and techniques
Skills examples Able to:
- S1 share functional and technical specifications with ICT teams in charge of the maintenance and evolution of ICT solutions
- S2 manage communications with ICT teams in charge of the maintenance and the evolution of information systems solutions
- S3 analyse the impact of functional/ technical changes on users
- S4 anticipate all actions required to mitigate the impact of changes (training, documentation, new processes…)

Back to list