Self Assessment Tool

Compose your own Professional Profile, find  the best matching ICT Profiles and choose the certificates that could help you to meet your aspirations.

Start your self-assessment by clicking the button.

Start self-assessment tool

The European e-Competence Framework



The e-Competence Framework, is a tool to describe the skills of professionals in ICT-related roles.The e-CF is a reference for job and role descriptions, skill development, training and education.The framework has been developed by a large number of European ICT and  HR experts in the context of the CEN Workshop on ICT Skills.The European e-Competence Framework is structured from four dimensions. These dimensions reflect different levels of business and human resource planning requirements in addition to job/ work proficiency guidelines.


The four dimensions of the e-CF are specified as follows:

The 40 e-competencies of the e-CF

Click on the competency code in the list for the full description.

Dimension 1
e-competence area
Dimension 2
e-Competence: Title + generic description
B.4 Solution Deployment
Following predefined general standards of practice carries out planned necessary interventions to implement solution, including installing, upgrading or decommissioning. Configures hardware, software or network to ensure interoperability of system components and debugs any resultant faults or incompatibilities. Engages additional specialist resources if required, such as third party network providers. Formally hands over fully operational solution to user and completes documentation recording all relevant information, including equipment addressees, configuration and performance data.
Dimension 3
e-Competence proficiency levels (on e-CF levels e-1 to e-5, related to EQF levels 3 to 8
Level 1
Performs under guidance and in accordance with detailed instructions, the removal or installation of individual components.

Level 2
Acts systematically to build or deconstruct system elements. Identifies non performing components and establishes root cause of failure within the overall solution. Provides support to less experienced colleagues.

Level 3
Accounts for own and others actions within solution provision activities including comprehensive communications with client. Exploits specialist knowledge to influence solution construction. Gives advice on aligning work processes and procedures with software upgrades.

Dimension 4
Knowledge examples Knows/ Aware of/ Familiar with:
- K1 performance analysis techniques
- K2 techniques related to problem management (operation, performance, compatibility)
- K3 software packaging and distribution methods and techniques
- K4 the impacts of deployment on the current architecture
- K5 the technologies and standards to be used during the deployment
Skills examples Able to:
- S1 organise deployment workflow and product roll-out activities
- S2 organise and plan beta-test activities, testing solution in its final operational environment
- S3 configure components at any level to guarantee correct overall interoperability
- S4 identify and engage expertise needed to solve interoperability problems
- S5 organise and control initial support service provision including user training during system start-up
- S6 organise population of data bases and manage data migration

Back to list