Self Assessment Tool

Compose your own Professional Profile, find  the best matching ICT Profiles and choose the certificates that could help you to meet your aspirations.

Start your self-assessment by clicking the button.

Start self-assessment tool

The European e-Competence Framework



The e-Competence Framework, is a tool to describe the skills of professionals in ICT-related roles.The e-CF is a reference for job and role descriptions, skill development, training and education.The framework has been developed by a large number of European ICT and  HR experts in the context of the CEN Workshop on ICT Skills.The European e-Competence Framework is structured from four dimensions. These dimensions reflect different levels of business and human resource planning requirements in addition to job/ work proficiency guidelines.


The four dimensions of the e-CF are specified as follows:

The 40 e-competencies of the e-CF

Click on the competency code in the list for the full description.

Dimension 1
e-competence area
Dimension 2
e-Competence: Title + generic description
B.3 Testing
Constructs and executes systematic test procedures for IT systems or customer usability requirements to establish compliance with design specifications. Ensures that new or revised components or systems perform to expectation. Ensures meeting of internal, external, national and international standards; including health and safety, usability, performance, reliability or compatibility. Produces documents and reports to evidence certification requirements.
Dimension 3
e-Competence proficiency levels (on e-CF levels e-1 to e-5, related to EQF levels 3 to 8
Level 1
Performs simple tests in strict compliance with detailed instructions.

Level 2
Organises test programmes and builds scripts to stress test potential vulnerabilities. Records and reports outcomes providing analysis of results.

Level 3
Exploits specialist knowledge to supervise complex testing programmes. Ensures tests and results are documented to provide input to subsequent process owners such as designers, users or maintainers. Accountable for compliance with testing procedures including a documented audit trail.

Level 4
Exploits wide ranging specialist knowledge to create a process for the entire testing activity, including the establishment of internal standard of practices. Provides expert guidance and advice to the testing team.

Dimension 4
Knowledge examples Knows/ Aware of/ Familiar with:
- K1 techniques, infrastructure and tools to be used in the testing process
- K2 the lifecycle of a testing process
- K3 the different sorts of tests (functional, integration, performance, usability, stress etc.)
- K4 national and international standards defining quality criteria for testing
Skills examples Able to:
- S1 create and manage a test plan
- S2 manage and evaluate the test process
- S3 design tests of ICT systems
- S4 prepare and conduct tests of ICT systems
- S5 report and document tests and results

Back to list