Self Assessment Tool

Compose your own Professional Profile, find  the best matching ICT Profiles and choose the certificates that could help you to meet your aspirations.

Start your self-assessment by clicking the button.

Start self-assessment tool

The European e-Competence Framework



The e-Competence Framework, is a tool to describe the skills of professionals in ICT-related roles.The e-CF is a reference for job and role descriptions, skill development, training and education.The framework has been developed by a large number of European ICT and  HR experts in the context of the CEN Workshop on ICT Skills.The European e-Competence Framework is structured from four dimensions. These dimensions reflect different levels of business and human resource planning requirements in addition to job/ work proficiency guidelines.


The four dimensions of the e-CF are specified as follows:

The 40 e-competencies of the e-CF

Click on the competency code in the list for the full description.

Dimension 1
e-competence area
Dimension 2
e-Competence: Title + generic description
B.2 Component Integration
Integrates hardware, software or sub system components into an existing or a new system. Complies with established processes and procedures such as, configuration management and package maintenance., Takes into account the compatibility of existing and new modules to ensure system integrity, system interoperability and information security. Verifies and tests system capacity and performance and documentation of successful integration.
Dimension 3
e-Competence proficiency levels (on e-CF levels e-1 to e-5, related to EQF levels 3 to 8
Level 2
Acts systematically to identify compatibility of software and hardware specifications. Documents all activities during installation and records deviations and remedial activities.

Level 3
Accounts for own and others actions in the integration process. Complies with appropriate standards and change control procedures to maintain integrity of the overall system functionality and reliability.

Level 4
Exploits wide ranging specialist knowledge to create a process for the entire integration cycle, including the establishment of internal standards of practice. Provides leadership to marshal and assign resources for programmes of integration.

Dimension 4
Knowledge examples Knows/ Aware of/ Familiar with:
- K1 old, existing and new hardware components/ software programs/ modules
- K2 the impact that system integration has on existing system/ organisation
- K3 interfacing techniques between modules, systems and components
- K4 integration testing techniques
- K5 development tools (e.g. development environment, management, source code access/revision control)
- K6 best practice design techniques
Skills examples Able to:
- S1 measure system performance before, during and after system integration
- S2 document and record activities, problems and related repair activities
- S3 match customers’ needs with existing products
- S4 verify that integrated systems capabilities and efficiency match specifications
- S5 secure/ back-up data to ensure integrity during system integration

Back to list