Self Assessment Tool

Compose your own Professional Profile, find  the best matching ICT Profiles and choose the certificates that could help you to meet your aspirations.

Start your self-assessment by clicking the button.

Start self-assessment tool

The European e-Competence Framework



The e-Competence Framework, is a tool to describe the skills of professionals in ICT-related roles.The e-CF is a reference for job and role descriptions, skill development, training and education.The framework has been developed by a large number of European ICT and  HR experts in the context of the CEN Workshop on ICT Skills.The European e-Competence Framework is structured from four dimensions. These dimensions reflect different levels of business and human resource planning requirements in addition to job/ work proficiency guidelines.


The four dimensions of the e-CF are specified as follows:

The 40 e-competencies of the e-CF

Click on the competency code in the list for the full description.

Dimension 1
e-competence area
Dimension 2
e-Competence: Title + generic description
A.1 IS and Business Strategy Alignment
Anticipates long term business requirements, influences improvement of organisational process efficiency and effectivenes. Determines the IS model and the enterprise architecture in line with the organisation\'s policy and ensures a secure environment. Makes strategic IS policy decisions for the enterprise, including sourcing strategies.
Dimension 3
e-Competence proficiency levels (on e-CF levels e-1 to e-5, related to EQF levels 3 to 8
Level 4
Provides leadership for the construction and implementation of long term innovative IS solutions.

Level 5
Provides IS strategic leadership to reach consensus and commitment from the management team of the enterprise.

Dimension 4
Knowledge examples Knows/ Aware of/ Familiar with:
- K1 business strategy concepts
- K2 trends and implications of ICT internal or external developments for typical organisations
- K3 the potential and opportunities of relevant business models
- K4 the business aims and organisational objectives
- K6 the new emerging technologies (e.g. distributed systems, virtualisation, mobility, data sets)
- K7 architectural frameworks
- K8 security
Skills examples Able to:
- S1 analyse future developments in business process and technology application
- S2 determine requirements for processes related to ICT services
- S3 identify and analyse long term user/ customer needs
- S4 contribute to the development of ICT strategy and policy
- S5 contribute to the development of the business strategy
- S6 analyse feasibility in terms of costs and benefits
- S7 review and analyse effects of implementations
- S8 understand the impact of new technologies on business (e.g. open/big data, dematerialisation opportunities and strategies)
- S9 understand the business benefits of new technologies and how this can add value and provide competitive advantage (e.g. open/big data, dematerialisation opportunities and strategies)
- S10 understand the enterprise architecture
- S11 understand the legal & regulatory landscape in order to factor into business requirements

Back to list