Self Assessment Tool

Compose your own Professional Profile, findĀ  the best matching ICT Profiles and choose the certificates that could help you to meet your aspirations.

Start your self-assessment by clicking the button.

Start self-assessment tool

e-Competence Certificates

eSkills training and certification are often hard to compare. They may be very specific and focused on the latest technology of one of the hardware or software suppliers, or more generic and providing overview of a field like architecture, business analysis or information security.One solution for this enigma is comparing learning outcomes with the e-competences defined in the e-Competence Framework e-CF and with the ICT Profiles of the CEN Workshop on ICT Skils. This is the core idea of the Certification Profiles listed below.

A Certification Profile contains the core information about an eSkills related certificate and shows which e-competencies match with obtaining the certificate and compares those with the most relevant ICT-profiles.

Title EPI Certified IT Specialist (CITS)
Provider EPI
Web source
Description Certified IT Specialist (CITS) is designed to teach the skills, knowledge and competencies required of the modern IT specialist working as the team-leader, supervisor or at management level in IT. Candidates who successfully complete the course and pass the CITS exam will be awarded the globally recognised CITS credential. This will prove that they have gained the competences required to manage IT teams successfully, and be able to place themselves above their peers, delivering added value to their organisations.
Target Group - IT Managers
- Supervisors
- IT Team Leaders
Corresponding ICT profiles - ICT OPERATIONS MANAGER
Prerequisites - Evidence of CITS training including performance of the lab exercises
Main subject(s) - IT Strategy
- IT Organisation
- Vendor Selection / Management
- Project Management
- Application Management
- Service Management
- Business Continuity Managment
- Risk Management
- Information Security Management
- Information and Knowledge Management
- Business Change Management
- Quality Management

Competence covered with this certificate Competence from the ICT Profiles
A.2 Service Level Management 3 P 4
A.4 Product / Service Planning 4
A.5 Architecture Design 3 S
A.6 Application Design 3 S
A.8 Sustainable Development 3 S
B.1 Application Development 3 S
B.3 Testing 3 S
C.1 User Support 3 P
C.2 Change Support 3 S
C.3 Service Delivery 3
C.4 Problem Management 3 P 4
D.10 Information and Knowledge Management 3 P
D.4 Purchasing 3 P
D.8 Contract Management 3 S 4
D.9 Personnel Development 3 P 43
E.2 Project and Portfolio Management 3 P 4
E.3 Risk Management 3 P 33
E.4 Relationship Management 3
E.6 ICT Quality Management 3 P 3
E.7 Business Change Management 3 S 43
E.8 Information Security Management 3 P 3

Back to list

Any mapping to the e-CF will have to deal with cases where the e-competence at hand, e.g. in a learning outcome, does not fit the description in the e-CF to its full extend. Here we used a grading (G/P/S) such that for e-competency:

For each e-competency the G (General), P (Partial) and S (Superficial) indicate the extend the competency is covered by the certificate:

The methodology behind the Certification Profiles has been developed during the eSkills Quality study for the European Commission. The final report of this study is available here.