Self Assessment Tool

Compose your own Professional Profile, findĀ  the best matching ICT Profiles and choose the certificates that could help you to meet your aspirations.

Start your self-assessment by clicking the button.

Start self-assessment tool

e-Competence Certificates

eSkills training and certification are often hard to compare. They may be very specific and focused on the latest technology of one of the hardware or software suppliers, or more generic and providing overview of a field like architecture, business analysis or information security.One solution for this enigma is comparing learning outcomes with the e-competences defined in the e-Competence Framework e-CF and with the ICT Profiles of the CEN Workshop on ICT Skils. This is the core idea of the Certification Profiles listed below.

A Certification Profile contains the core information about an eSkills related certificate and shows which e-competencies match with obtaining the certificate and compares those with the most relevant ICT-profiles.

Title Microsoft Certified Solution Developer (MCSD)
Provider Microsoft
Web source
Description The Microsoft Certified Solution Developer (MCSD) certification validates skills necessary to develop applications successfully by using Microsoft Visual Studio, the Microsoft .NET Framework, and other development technologies. Obtaining the MCSD certificate requires taking one to three MCSE exams (depending on the software technique) and a MCSE (PRO) exam in the specific technical area.
Target Group - Professionals that design and develop applications
- Software Developers
Corresponding ICT profiles - DEVELOPER
Prerequisites - A minimum of three years working experience
Main subject(s) - Designing the Application Architecture
- Designing the User Experience
- Designing Data Strategies and Structures
- Designing Security Architecture and Implementation
- Preparing for and Investigating Application Issues
- Designing a Deployment Strategy

Competence covered with this certificate Competence from the ICT Profiles
A.6 Application Design 2 G
B.1 Application Development 3 G 3
B.2 Component Integration 2 P 2
B.3 Testing 2 G 2
B.4 Solution Deployment 2 G
B.5 Documentation Production 1 P 3
C.2 Change Support 3
C.3 Service Delivery 2 P 2
C.4 Problem Management 3 P 33
E.8 Information Security Management 3 P

Back to list

Any mapping to the e-CF will have to deal with cases where the e-competence at hand, e.g. in a learning outcome, does not fit the description in the e-CF to its full extend. Here we used a grading (G/P/S) such that for e-competency:

For each e-competency the G (General), P (Partial) and S (Superficial) indicate the extend the competency is covered by the certificate:

The methodology behind the Certification Profiles has been developed during the eSkills Quality study for the European Commission. The final report of this study is available here.